An issuer/dealer is any issuer who, either through persons directly or indirectly compensated or controlled by the issuer, engages in the business of offering or selling securities which are issued or are proposed to be issued by said issuer.
Sections 517.051 and 517.061, Florida Statutes (F.S.), provide exemptions whereby a firm may not need to be registered. These exemptions are self-executing and do not require any filing with the Office of Financial Regulation (OFR) prior to claiming such exemption. Any person who claims entitlement to any of the exemptions bears the burden of proving such entitlement.
The Florida Division of Securities utilizes the Regulatory Enforcement and Licensing (REAL) System for the registration of issuer/dealers. This online system enables issuer/dealers to submit their application form and fees electronically. Additional filing requirements shall be submitted as prescribed in Section 517.12(10), F.S., and Rule 69W-600.0013, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.).
Paper applications received by the OFR will be returned to the applicant with instructions for filing electronically.
Required fingerprint submission for persons on Schedules A and B shall be filed electronically.
Fingerprint requirement procedure
To apply for registration through Online Services.
Amendments to the Form BD
If the information contained on the Form BD, Uniform Application for Broker-Dealer Registration, becomes inaccurate for any reason, the registrant shall file an amendment on the Form BD correcting the information within 30 days.
Amendment filings shall be made through the Online Services.
Notices of termination shall be filed on the Form BDW, Uniform Request for Broker-Dealer Withdrawal.
Termination filings shall be made through Online Services.
Annual Financial Statements
Financial statements for issuer/dealers are required to be filed with the OFR within 90 days after the registrant's fiscal year end pursuant to Rule 69W-600.0151, F.A.C. Such financial statements shall be mailed to the OFR at the address identified in the contact information section.
Renewal fees for issuer/dealers shall be paid electronically through Online Services. It is incumbent upon the registrant, not the OFR, to ensure that the renewal payment is submitted timely. The renewal fee is $200 for each firm.
Registrants should refer to Section 517.12(11), F.S., and Rule 69W-600.0013, F.A.C., for additional guidance. Renewal payments for all branch office locations and associated persons of issuer/dealers also shall be paid through the REAL System.
Registrations for dealers expire at the end of each calendar year and must be renewed timely for the registrant to remain registered to conduct business in, to or from Florida.
OFR-DA-5-91 - Issuer/Dealer Compliance FormForm BD - Uniform Application for Broker-Dealer Registration