About Our Agency

The Florida Office of Financial Regulation (OFR) provides regulatory oversight for Florida’s financial services industry. The OFR was created in 2003 as the result of the Cabinet Reorganization Act of 2002. Although the OFR is a relatively new agency, its beginnings as a banking, consumer finance and securities regulator date back to the mid-1800s with the creation of the former Comptroller’s Office.

The OFR reports to the Financial Services Commission made up of Governor Ron DeSantis and the members of the Florida Cabinet: Chief Financial Officer Jimmy Patronis, Attorney General Ashley Moody and Agriculture Commissioner Wilton Simpson.

Our Mission:
To protect Florida’s financial services consumers, promote a safe and sound financial marketplace, and contribute to the growth of Florida’s economy through fair, innovative, and excellent regulation of the financial services industry.

Financial Services Commission

The Commission is comprised of four members: the Governor, the Attorney General, the Chief Financial Officer and the Commissioner of Agriculture. The two offices within the Commission are the Office of Financial Regulation, which regulates the banking, finance and securities industries in Florida, and the Office of Insurance Regulation, which regulates insurance companies. Both offices are headed by commissioners who are appointed by the Financial Services Commission. The Financial Services Commission is responsible for final approval of rules developed by each office. All regulatory decisions are vested with the offices.